ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 01-25-2018   #1
billschroeder5842

Default Continuing angst... headers today...

I'm still exploring my angst on some "light" upgrades; plenum porting, headers and a great tune. I do value the opinions of those what are actual users.

My question today is on headers. What is REALLY the difference between some of the major manufactures? There is a pretty good size pricing differential between SW and OBX and other, although all users swear by them.

My priorities are:
1) fit and installation ease; must fit to factory pipes as I'm keeping mufflers to reduce drone.
2) overall quality of constructon
3) performance gaines. yep, it would be nice to feel a pop
4) sound, tone as I'd like a bit more sounds but drone is a no-no

I'm a pretty sane driver, no race tracks but any freeway on-ramp is my own personal 1/4 mile. "flow at all costs" is not a thing as a couple of HP difference is not going to cause me to sweat.

What is the BEST value? Thanks!

1991 Corvette ZR1 #1388
2015 Challenger Scat Pack Shaker

billschroeder5842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018   #2
Vette73

Default Re: Continuing angst... headers today...

I went with OBX.....I too was going to keep my stock mufflers but went with the entire system...

I like the OBX and you can't beat the price.......A couple of HP here and there on a set of headers in my opinion are not a deal breaker....Double the price for a different system was....

Sent from my LG-TP260 using ZR-1 Net Registry mobile app
Vette73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018   #3
Ccmano

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vette73 View Post
I went with OBX.....I too was going to keep my stock mufflers but went with the entire system...

I like the OBX and you can't beat the price.......A couple of HP here and there on a set of headers in my opinion are not a deal breaker....Double the price for a different system was....