ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 05-05-2015   #1
QMCMSS

Default Spark Plug Gap and stuff

So last week I was a newbie and this week after reading and rereading. I've made a few decisions and raised a few questions for myself based on what I've read here and the Hailbeck site. Hopefully by sharing them I can help the next newbie. Also included here are some of my own discoveries.

First the car 1991 ZR1 with the following changes. K&N filter setup Corsa Cat Back Exhaust, Hailbeck Chip, Top end ported and polished. I bought the car about 10 days ago and it has 51k original it would not pass California Smog because of high NOx . The end of that saga was to change both O2 sensors NOx went from 699 to 385 and the car passed max allowable is 545. The car also has a high RPM miss around 5500rpm under a heavy foot which seems to sound ignition related rather than fuel. Other than that life is seems pretty good.

My next plan is to create a baseline of the simple stuff Oil, Plugs, and fluids. and here is what I have concluded based on the great info available here.

Plugs I'm going with the NGK part # 3690 which is one step cooler than OE. After reading the spark plug debate between the less expensive AC Delco and NGK my reason for choosing the NGK was Marc's recommendation that this was the best plug. Couldn't find them at any of the local parts house's so I wound up ordering them from Rock Auto just under $60 for the set including shipping. Hopefully they will help with the high RPM miss. Spark plug gap seems to be open for debate with a split between 40 and 50 I'm thinking of going with 45 and am interested in your thoughts. I'm sure it's a small thing but my curiosity needs to know.