ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > Off Topic > Review/Evaluation

Old 11-29-2012   #1
Hib Halverson

Default Outstanding Book on Performance Driving

My performance driving "skills" are primarily self-taught. While, at times, I have received some professional instruction from a few racers I know, for the most part, I've relied on books and practice on various race tracks and on twisty public highways, as my "instruction". I know I'd probably benefit from a real performance driving school, such as Spring Mountain Motorsports' "Ron Fellows Performance Driving School", but with today's stagnated economy, I just don't have the budget. So...I read books.

I've read many a performance driving title over the years starting with Alan Johnson's seminal Driving in Competition back with I was just a kid. Every so often since then, I'll run across one that looks good and I'll read it as a sort of "refresher course". Of course, I've also run across a few driving books which weren't worth their cover prices. Earlier this year, I saw Ultimate Speed Secrets on Motorbooks' web site and ordered a copy.

Wow. Great book!

Rivals Johnson's book as the best driving book I've ever read.

Not only does it have great depth in its discussions of high-performance and race driving skills but it delves into a number of topics that other performance driving books either just gloss over or don't address at all. For example: there are chapters titled "race team dynamics", How the Driver's Mind Works, Brain integration", "Behavioral Traits" and "Decision Making" all legitimate topics of discussion for those planning on making race driving a "serious" hobby or a profession but which are sometimes neglected in other performance driving books.