ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 02-23-2018   #1
GOLDCYLON

Exclamation Electronic Spark Module ... future MY 90 Achilles Heel?

While browsing parts for my cars on EBay I noticed a part there in the mix I never noticed before. I have been driving my 1991 ZR-1 for 12 years now however just over a year ago I bought a 1990 ZR-1. A few of you know that the MY 90 had a few differences technically that did not follow into the different model years as the electronics and the engines for that matter improved. While almost everybody knows about the ECM and the DIS that are failure points along the entire model run I propose that I have stumbled upon a MY 90 potential problem area that I was completely unaware of. While I am fairly knowledgeable about ZR-1s I will be the first to tell you I know several members in the community that have probably forgotten more than I will ever know lol.

The ESC is also called the electronic knock module. It provides an modular interface between the knock sensor and the ECM. On earlier C4s it was located near the evaporator housing and in the 90 ZR-1 it is located on the evaporator suitcase below the radiator high fill point. In 1991 ZR-1s and on later cars ESC was incorporated into the memcal in the ECM. When the ECM detects knock (pre-ignition), it will retard the timing to save the engine from damage. This will sometimes result in a loss of power and pinging and overall poor running conditions. Just like the MY1990 air bag frame rail sensors and the Air Bag DERM module the ESC I believe is a MY 90 ZR-1 LT5 ONLY specific part. I have no idea on availability of this item however I suggest as our cars continue to age that this might be an area of concern. I suggest if you can find one you add it to your parts store if you own a 1990 ZR-1.