ZR-1 Net Registry Forums  

Go Back   ZR-1 Net Registry Forums > C4 ZR-1 > C4 ZR-1 Technical Postings

Old 06-20-2022   #1
Tkrahn77

Default Overheating issues.

Hi my name is Trevor,

I am new to this whole forums thing but I have a question. I am by no means a mechanic but I understand quite a bit on vehicles. I'm more of a parts swapper. Well I have a 1990 ZR1 and have been going through quite a bit of issues since buying her. I have figured out most of the issues. I am now having over heating issues. I swapped the thermostat bled the air out still over heating. I removed the thermostat housing and cleaned up everything. I am looking for this sensor and wanted to swap it out but can't find it anywhere. If someone could direct me in the right path would be greatly appreciated. I am working my way up to the water pump and am hoping to solve the issue before getting to that point.

20220619_190855.jpg

20220619_170637.jpg

20220619_165611.jpg
Tkrahn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2022   #2
1991 Corvette ZR-1

Default Re: Overheating issues.

Have you had a chance to check the air gap between the radiator underneath the shroud? How quickly does it overheat? In changing the thermostat, how did you refill the coolant? When refilling the coolant and it appears full in the surge tank it is possible to still have a decent amount of air still in the system. A trick that one of our forum veterans taught me was when the engine is cold and you start it, put your hand on the coolant tube outlets on the injector housings and the cam covers. If the cam covers are getting hot, but the coolant tubes are staying cold, air pocket issues. If the tubes get hot and the cam covers stay comfortable to the touch during that time, you are good to go.